That’s right, the language learning journey has begun! As of a few weeks ago, I began relearning Spanish in preparation for my travels to South America. I think that even a basic knowledge of Spanish will be fab to have and will make my trip that much more enjoyable. It’ll also be of great help at the South American airports for flights and whatnot.

Some of you may have heard of Rosetta Stone but if not, it is a language learning tool designed for use on computers and it has a very specific (almost unique) way of trying to teach you a language. The application teaches by use of no English whatsoever, the whole course is in Spanish and is designed to work much like the way that you would learn a language whilst being immersed in a culture that speaks no English, and only the language that you are trying to learn. It’s actually quite tough, trying to figure out the English by inference alone (comparing the phrases to pictures), but I think that it might be working?? I’m following the Speaking and Listening course and I can sort of figure stuff out without looking at the words, but Spanish people do speak really fast tbf – they do not make it easy. so maybe by the time I’m ready to depart, in a few months, I’ll be half-fluent, if even such a thing exists. The best bit about this application is that every exercise involves a Spanish person speaking some text and so you quickly get used to how they speak, hence, it is probably one of the most ‘real’ ways to practise a language.

But if you were ever looking to learn a new language, I would definitely recommend Rosetta Stone, but I imagine that a combination of this application and wrote learning (to learn lists of words) would be the best way for to learn a language.

Leave a comment